Income Variations

I have been an independent medical writer for the past 18 years. I’ve noticed that, though I have been able to make a comfortable living (touch wood), there are wide variations in my income both on a monthly and on a yearly basis. Specifically, if I look back over the past 12 months, the income in my best month was about 4 times that of my worst month. On a hearly basis, over the past 12 years, in my best year I earned around twice as much as my worst year. Of course the take home message from this is that you need to have cushion in the bank to fall back on during those low periods. However, I would be interested in knowing if other people in the field have similar experiences. Just to clarify I’m not talking about my first couple of years in the field before I was established.

Leave a Reply

