Napping–Another Advantage To Working at Home

Why Companies Should Insist that Employees Take Naps – Tony Schwartz

2:08 PM Monday September 20, 2010 | Comments (75)

Good luck, right?

But here’s the reality: naps are a powerful source of competitive advantage. The recent evidence is overwhelming: naps are not just physically restorative, but also improve perceptual skills, motor skills, reaction time and alertness.

I experienced the power of naps myself when I was writing my new book, The Way We’re Working Isn’t Working.

I wrote at home, in the mornings, in three separate, highly focused 90 minute sessions. By the time I finished the last one, I was usually exhausted — physically, mentally and emotionally. I ate lunch and then took a 20 to 30 minute nap on a Barcalounger chair, which I bought just for that purpose.

When I awoke, I felt incredibly rejuvenated. Where I might otherwise have dragged myself through the afternoon, I was able to focus effectively on work other than writing until 7 pm or so, without feeling fatigued.

via Why Companies Should Insist that Employees Take Naps – Tony Schwartz – Harvard Business Review.

There you have it. Who can argue with the Harvard Business School? What’s next? drinking beer and lying on the couch for 1/2 the day also boosts productivity?

I have a couch in my home office and I usually nap every day for about 1/2 hour. Any more than that and I feel kind of dopey when I wake up. I definitely feel refreshed and am able to work longer following a nap.
Those of us who have dogs or cats know that they spend probably 20 hours a day sleeping and look how productive they are. Wait maybe that’s not such a good example.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

